I Don’t Fit

On January 11th, I met with my pastor as to what his vision for the church was. I was told that I was laid off due to “financial reasons.”

In the course of that conversation I was told that “I don’t fit”. I had been on staff since March 2007. I had served the church for 2 years and 10 months. I still have an email from this pastor saying that he thought I was a good fit when we came to this church. This has been my longest tenure at a church. That is very frustrating for me because I have wanted to go somewhere and plant myself. This did not make sense. I had been planning on what God was going to do in 2010.

This blog is my attempt to explore and articulate my thoughts and feelings as I see what God has next for me. I hope to be real and transparent in this process. I hope that it encourages anyone else who finds them self in this kind of situation, challenges pastors to shepherd their staff as they care for the sheep God has given them, I hope to find some sense of peace through this process.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones. ~Proverbs 3:5-8

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. ~ Galatians 2:20

One response to “I Don’t Fit

  1. Pingback: progress? | iDontFit